it’s pleasant and petite at Mayfield Bakery

(March 31, 2010)

You can’t see it, but behind that first white pillar is a large brown bag with five new boxes of [delicious] cereal. My darling soulroommate Edie and I had just finished our first cereal-shopping trip of spring quarter in a short and sweet seven minutes. (There’s no point in being modest about it now: we’ve become cereal connoisseurs, and standing before TJ’s cereal section is no longer an overwhelming psychological dilemma.) And for our first breakfast outing of this enormously important quarter of our lives, we found ourselves at the petite but clearly very popular Mayfield Bakery in Palo Alto’s Town and Country Village.

It’s charming for its quaintness. Situated adjacent to the Mayfield Cafe restaurant, the focus here is on the bountiful baskets of fresh bread, and some pastries, cookies and the like. I honestly enjoyed simply… watching their freshness. (Yup, just as I thought – that seems so weird written down.) On that particular Wednesday, light streamed right through the windows into the delicate country atmosphere and warmed our backs. There are only three tables and pairs of chairs inside, and the many customers who came in that morning, from mothers to couples to high school students during class breaks, were in and out to pick up a breakfast good or a sandwich. Like its clean and simple decor, you’ll find only classic sweets here.

Their almond croissant was enticing for its uniquely round spiraled shape. But I went for the ham and gruyere breakfast croissant, the earthy cheese of which was superbly melted and baked in. (Gruyere. When’s the last time you had it??) They actually had a lot of croissant goods! Not one of them was sad and doughy-looking.

They have baskets of smaller sizes of fresh bread right on the counter, which are all packed with, dare I say it, action! Edie opted for a demi walnut leavain, which they cut in half, heated and served with butter and jelly.

Mayfield Bakery is cute. Edie and I were content and comfortable reading by the sun for the couple hours we remained. There was a great flow of endearing families and students and little kids (great for Edie) to watch during our rare *ahem* non-reading moments. I generally approve of Town and Country, but this little bakery was a perfectly pleasant discovery.

We’ll be back around for the cafe next door, too: Edie and I both went in for bathroom, and agreed on the mouthwatering breakfast aromas. Oh, the suspense…!

** UPDATE **

This cookie is chocolate through and through, with the addition of espresso powder and white chocolate bits. It was super soft, moist and fresh-baked and I couldn’t eat the entire thing, but it was total edible happiness. I often think about it when I don’t have it, which means all the time after that one day I got it.

** UPDATE #2 **

So, once upon a time, I had gotten the ham and gruyere croissant sandwich for my friend Matt. And he went crazy for it. So on March 30, Matt and I made the Mayfield mission. This time, I got a vegetable quiche (great), and this banana creme pie.

I can’t believe I almost didn’t get this. What was I thinking? When I asked him why he thought I should get it, he said something like, “I mean, just look at it. It looks delicious.” After this banana creme pie, I decided that Mayfield really is a really, really wonderful bakery.

Mon – Fri 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Sat – Sun 7 a.m. – 6 p.m.

location

One thought on “it’s pleasant and petite at Mayfield Bakery

  1. Haha, kid-watching! yes! I, too, cannot wait for our adventure to Mayfield restaurant for breakfast!

    love edie

Leave a Reply

