“Prolific,” indeed.

(February 7, 2010)

Okay.

I’ve got approximately 12 minutes until the start of Italian, and I’m writing now because who knows if I’ll have any more free time for the rest of my life. Also, this is a good deadline. I’ve noticed I can spend hours on this blog without realizing it, and that is so, so dangerous.

I’m sitting in class next to Theresa, the girl I mentioned on my first post [just about a week ago!]. We just finished agreeing on the highly deadly nature of this past weekend.

After Satura on Saturday, and finishing most of my research paper on the rhetoric of Kim Dae-Jung, Sunday saw Karthik, Jake, Edie and I drive on over to The Prolific Oven, another of my top locations on University. I just desperately needed Karthik to try the carrot cake, because he loves carrot cake, and I never loved it until I tried theirs. It’s chunky, dynamic, topped with cream-cheese frosting – it completely won me over to the carrot cake side of life.

After Jake and Karthik left to watch the Superbowl, Edie and I, football-nonchalants that we are, stayed at Prolific for a total of maybe five hours more. If that’s not evidence of the work required of us this weekend, I don’t know what is.

But that’s the beautiful thing about The Prolific Oven – it’s just so wonderfully long-term. Mauve-ish purple and dark reds color the walls and ceiling, and comfortably worn wooden chairs and tables are spaced out nicely atop the scuffed-up miniature-tile flooring. Free coffee refills accompany the all-day free wi-fi. They practically invite you to live here. And the display case of their cakes, deservedly famous in the area, is enough to make you drool.

I’m unshakably in love with their chocolate mocha and carrot cakes, the two I’ve had so far. Their cheesecake, unfortunately, wasn’t up to Edie’s par. They also have a wide, wide selection of cookies and pastries, though I must say my blood sugar levels are a bit too conservative for many of them!

12:53. Good work, Nina.

Ooh! Professoressa has arrived! Gotta go.

Mon 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Tue – Thur 7 a.m. – 10 p.m.

Fri – Sat 7 a.m. – 11 p.m.

Sun 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.

location

Leave a Reply

