Archive: The Stanford Bookstore Cafe

(March 12, 2010)

The Bookstore Cafe!

I stopped drinking their 50-cent coffee, and I don’t buy their baked goods that come from boxes that come from somewhere.

BUT.

Well, let me start with a short story. When I was growing up, recalls my mother fondly, I used to go around the park and shout, “I’ve never seen so many books in my whole life…!” taking a page out of Belle’s book (pun absolutely intentional) from “Beauty and the Beast.” The end. I love being surrounded by books. Thus, my fondness for the Bookstore Cafe.

High ceilings, wide-open people-watching space and satisfying chairs are the other highlights of the Bookstore Cafe. They are definite bonuses to the Bookstore Cafe’s simple between-class convenience factor. There are certainly high-traffic times when you have to wait around slyly for someone to start packing up from their table before rapidly and shamelessly jumping it. These occasions include rainy days and some early afternoons. However, if real estate cannot be found, there’s always the floor of the cookbook section downstairs. That’s where Helen, Edie and I got comfortable for a bit before it cleared out a little upstairs on the rainy yesterFriday.

Please keep in mind that while there is, of course, free all-day wi-fi (it IS on-campus), there are NO outlets. And that is both a good thing and a bad thing, as I’ve mentioned elsewhere. I always just make it a good productivity-conducing quality, though, and do my non-laptop-required work there. It’s great.

So check it out! Perhaps we’ll meet there by chance? (Because I run into Matt there all the time, and TODAY I ran into Nadeen… and these are just happy events overall.)

=)

Mon – Thu 8 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Fri 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Sat 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Sun 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

location

3 thoughts on “Archive: The Stanford Bookstore Cafe

  1. Yes, your favorite scene from “Beauty & Beast” was when the beast shows off his library and Bell happily shouts “I’ve never seen so many books in my whole life”! You’d dress up as Bell and walk around and pretend you’re looking at bookshelves on the wall and shout, “I’ve never…… .. ” in your tiny little girly voice, ha.ha…. ! You’ve always LOVED books! =D

  2. Quora

Leave a Reply

